Welcome

October 24, 2010

My name is Karinda Woodward. I am a midwifery student, doula and breastfeeding counselor. I have been working as a breastfeeding counselor for approximately 4 years. I am creating this blog to dispel breastfeeding myths, answer breastfeeding questions, and create local support.

I am also writing this blog to tell the truth. I will not pretend that formula is simply another feeding choice and is similar in any way to breastmilk. Formula is not a safe choice for babies and should only be used when the benefit outweighs the risk. Between 9,000-10,000 infants die each year in the United States due to withholding breastmilk.*  I also plan to discuss how birth choices affect breastfeeding. Having an epidural or a cesarean does affect getting breastfeeding off to a good start. Many pregnant mothers report that they are planning a natural birth and these interventions should not be a problem for them. Michael Rosenthal, OB/GYN states, “the first intervention in natural childbirth is the one that a healthy woman does herself when she walks out the front door of her own home in labor. It is from that first intervention that all others follow.” I strongly agree with this statement and for that reason I am an advocate of families giving birth in the safe, secure, relaxing environments of their own homes. The cesarean rate in the United States is currently 32.3%. I do not believe that 1 in 3 women are incapable of vaginal birth. I do, however, believe that at least 1 in 3 doctors are incapable of believing in the ability and strength of a woman’s body.

Other subjects that I hope to address in this blog will be the importance of colostrum, how milk supply works, the necessity of skin to skin breastfeeding, and many other valuable topics. I want this information to be available based on supply & demand, just like your milk! For that reason I welcome comments and questions. I will decide on topics based on feedback that I get from this blog, questions from mothers that I have worked with throughout the week, and personal frustrations concerning things that create barriers for women being able to successfully nurse their children.

* Report Finds that Using Formula Doubles the Death Rate for U.S. Infants ~Midwifery Today article 2004
*Milk, Money, and Madness: The Culture and Politics of Breastfeeding by Naomi Baumslag, M.D., M.P.H., and Dia L. Michels pg. 93

One Response to “Welcome”

  1. Carmen said

    This is so timely! We’re expecting our first in December, and yes, I plan to breastfeed.

Leave a Reply

