IBCLC

October 29, 2010

IBCLC stands for International Board Certified Lactation Consultant. I took my exam to become an IBCLC in July. Today I received my results and am so happy to announce that I am an official Lactation Consultant. I am beaming with pride and excitement.

I love knowing that I will represent for my community a certified Lactation Consultant that truly believes in skin to skin nursing. I am not simply passionate about breastmilk, I am passionate about breastfeeding.

To pass this exam I had to have basic knowledge of anatomy, physiology, nutrition, counseling, and detailed knowledge of breastfeeding. I had to complete over 45 hours in breastfeeding education. I had to document over 1000 hours working with breastfeeding women in a supervised setting. After documentation of all of these things, I was eligible to sit for the 6-hour exam.

I am so excited to know that I get the privilege of being an IBCLC that believes in women’s bodies and trusts in the simplicity and truth of being ‘with women’.

4 Responses to “IBCLC”

  1. Katie B. said

    So happy for you!!!

  2. Laura said

    Saw this news on our mutual friend Pam’s wall. Congrats, it’s an awesome accomplishment.
    PS I’m the one who who wrote you that I work at BV to introduce myself.

  3. Kristin said

    Congratulations on achieving your consultant status!!

  4. Valerie said

    Congrats on your accomplishment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

